United states are a transcontinental country and most of the territory is located in North America. The political structure is a federal constitutional republic with a presidential regime.
Of the 50 states that make up the United States, Alaska and Hawaï are not adjacent. This country includes fourteen island territories in the Caribbean and the Pacific Ocean. The federal capital of the United States is Washington, and is located in the District of Columbia. Its currency is the American dollar and its flag consists of thirteen red and white stripes and fifty stars representing the fifty federated states of the union. In 2016, the United States had a population of about 324 million, making it the third most populous country in the world after China and India.